Australian Nutrition Trust Fund (ANTF)

ANTF Nicole Biggs

Travelling Scholarship

Report of my time spent with the National Institute of Nutrition Vietnam
by Nicole Biggs


Travelling Fellowship

ANTF Travelling Fellowship report
by Kay Nguo


The Australian Nutrition Trust was set up with the surplus from the International Union of Nutritional Sciences meeting held in Adelaide in 1993. The conference was attended by approximately 2600 people from 91 countries. The Local Organising Committee agreed that the conference surplus be used to promote and advance the study of human nutritional disorders, to promote the advance of research into nutrition relevant to human health and to disseminate knowledge of health skills related to food and nutrition in the scientific and lay community. Accordingly, a trust fund was set up for this purpose.

The original Trustees were:

  • Professor Paul Nestel
  • Professor Mark Wahlqvist
  • Professor Ivor Dreosti
  • Professor Richard Smith
  • Professor Stewart Truswell


Over the past 20 years, the Australian Nutrition Trust Fund (ANTF), administered by the Trustees, has played a role in the development of nutrition science in Australia, and continues to do so.

It has been an important career resource for dozens of Australian nutrition scientists by supporting them attending international conferences. ANTF has also been a significant long term supporter of Nutrition Society of Australia (NSA) by way of support for the NSA newsletter and the administration of the NSA Awards program. ANTF currently funds NSA Early and Mid Career travel grants and the newly developed short and longer-term NSA travelling fellowship grants. In the past 3 years, ANT has also supported an audit of, and workshops on, undergraduate Nutrition Science courses in Australia.

Conservative management of the trust fund means that it will be in a position to support Australian nutrition science for many years to come.

The Current Directors:

The current Directors of the Australian Nutrition Trust Fund are:

  • Professor Jonathan Hodgson: Professor of Nutrition and Epidemiology, Edith Cowan University
  • Professor Lisa Wood: Professor, School of Biomedical Sciences and Pharmacy, University of Newcastle
  • Professor Andrew Sinclair: Professor Emeritus Deakin University, Adjunct Professor Monash University
  • Dr Tracy McCaffrey: Senior Lecturer, Nutrition, Dietetics & Food, Monash University
  • Dr Malcolm Riley: Nutrition Scientist, CSIRO
  • Dr Welma Stonehouse: Principal Research Scientist, CSIRO

Summer Vacation Scholarship Opportunity

More information to come shortly.

Australian Nutrition Trust Fund Travelling Fellowships